The Weird and Wonderful Wii: Hidden Gems, Oddities, and Sleeper Hits on Nintendo’s Best Selling Console

Funny Story, I actually paid my roommate’s rent for his Wii, and i got Twilight Princess, New Super Mario Bros, and some VC games. I used it for Netflix and the Virtual Console for a long time. Eventually, I went the route many have to prolong the entertainment value of their system and softmodded it. I hooked up my old external harddrive and uploaded every NES, Genesis, Super Nintendo, and even some Sega CD games. It wasn’t until recently when i saw MetalJesusRocks Wii Hidden Gems episode that I decided to start building up my Wii Collection. Unlike Xbox 360 and PS3, Nintendo Wii had a ton of exclusive titles. With their unique control system, I believe a good amount of Wii games will become very collectible. Already three games have reached over $100 on Ebay (Xenoblade Chronicles, Metroid Prime Trilogy, Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn). So this month, I’ll be writing some reviews on some of the lesser known Wii titles that are unique to the system.

Here’s what I have so far (links to gameplay videos):

Games I don’t have yet, but will review when i have them:

Comment below if you know of any other Wii games i should review.

2 thoughts on “The Weird and Wonderful Wii: Hidden Gems, Oddities, and Sleeper Hits on Nintendo’s Best Selling Console

  1. Excite Truck and Excite Bots: Trick Racing were two of the greatest, most underrated arcade racing games. Absolute blast! Also Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition was the best version of the game and one of the very few shooting games that was actually made better with motion controls.

  2. Games worth getting IMHO: Mario Kart Wii, Okami, Zack & Wiki, Metroid: Other M, Resident Evil Darkside Chronicles, Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles, De Blob 1, Last Story & Pandora´s Tower. (Disclaimer: European here, not sure all of these were released in the US).

Leave a Reply

